Read Post


October 16, 2021

The maiden edition of Lagos cricket stakeholders female t20 is about to come to an end as Ibeju-Lekki Cricket Club and Lagos Island Cricket Club make it to the finals leaving out team Epe and team Ikeja to battle for 3rd place.

Sunday afternoon’s Lagos Cricket Female T20 clash between Ibeju Lekki CC and Lagos Island will be the most talked about Female T20 final this year. This will be the first time the Team Lagos Female side will be playing against each other on a different platform, as most of the ladies of both teams are members of the Lagos State female team.

It is unlikely we will have a more intense game in the tournament as captains of both teams have set their eyes on winning the game but at the end of the day there must be a winner.

The first game of the tournament saw Ibeju Lekki CC knock out their opponent Epe CC who scored 82 runs all out in 14.0 overs, with Ogbu Elameyi Precious bowling out 4 vital wickets, conceded 23 runs in 4 overs and captain of the side Hannah Ayoka 3 wickets, 5 runs in 3 overs. The batting innings of Ibeju Lekki CC witnessed a topclass performance by Olosunde Kafayat who top-scored for her team with a strike rate of 129.41 (44 runs of 34 balls). Other outstanding performances in the game were recorded for team Epe’s Adebayo Omolade who bowled 3 overs for 14 runs and got 4 wickets and Timi Seaman, 16 runs off 14 balls.

At the end of the game, Team Ibeju-Lekki won by 5 wickets to secure their slot at the final.

In the second deciding match between Team Ikeja and Team Lagos Island with a quick end saw the islanders end the game earlier than imagined. Team Lagos Island restricted their opponents to a total of 24 runs all out in 8.1 overs with the captain of the side, Itua Rosemary taking 3 wickets and conceding 4 runs in 3 overs. Eboka Teniola also got 3 wickets and conceded 12 runs while Olanrewaju Tosin got 2 wickets in 2 overs to grant their team an easy chase in the second innings, scoring 26 runs in 2.2 overs.

Teniola Eboka (17 runs off 13 balls) and Salami Shukurah (3 runs off 2 balls) saw their team through to the final of the Lagos Cricket Stakeholders Female T20 final against Ibeju Lekki. Now the two teams reconvene at the Unilag Alumni Cricket Oval to decide who will be crowned champions of the maiden edition of the tournament.

1 Like


  • avatar image

    Hannah Ayoka

    October 17,2021 at 07:03:16


Leave a comment


How would you rate our articles?









Thanks! Feedback Recieved. You're amazing! 💖

Always stay in your crease! 😷