Saturday, July 02, 2022

Cricket Firework in Regions for Boys National U-17 Qualifiers

More than 360 players would be fielded this weekend when the boy's qualifier of the on-going PwC National U-17 Cricket Championship and the Nigeria Cricket Federation has informed that the entry is record entry on its own.

Endurance Ofem, a former national male team captain, Chairman Development and Tournament Committee of the Federation who is overseeing the event informed that his team expects a very competitive regional qualifier.
“We want the best team from each of the region to make it to the national finals later in February and hence have tweaked the conditioned to have the players fully express themselves. We would have ODI, 30 overs in each of the centers. We have put officer on ground to ensure Covid 19 compliance and the Ministry of Youth and Sports Ministry has sent in support in this regards too which is also complimented with health officials on ground at each centers” he said.

Kaduna, Kano Zamfara, Jigawa, Sokoto are teams for the North West qualifiers. River State would be hosting Edo, Akwa –Ibom, Delta, Cross Rivers and Bayelsa while in North Central FCT will be hosting Kwara, Kogi and Plateau entries.
The South East entries would be hosted in Enugu with Anambra, Ebonyi, Imo and Abia all slugging it out and Oyo is the host for the South West where Lagos, Ogun, Oyo, Osun and Ondo are competing. Only Gombe have an automatic entry into the final as the sole entry from the North East of the country.

Delia Asuzu, Head Marketing and Communication at PwC noted that the teamwork that each region is a great unifying factor that they identify with.
“At the national finals, each regions would present the best team from the regional qualifiers which calls for a great deal of teamwork. It is one of the values that we promote at PwC and we are happy it is what the events is built around” she said.

The Cricket National U-17 is the biggest platform for cricket expressions among the youth. The national final is billed for January 28th to 31st (for girls) and February 4th to 7th (for boys).


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *